50 questions to Ask and Answer.

Firstly can I say a huge thank you to all my new followers and for the positive feedback- you don’t know just how much it is appreciated!

So I thought I’d give you all a little insight into me! I’ve taken my inspiration for this post from Samantha from the Samantha show (http://www.thesamanthashow.com/50-questions-you-should-ask-and-answer/). Hopefully you enjoy!

1. What are your nicknames? What do you prefer to be called?In school it was Joyboy or Joyby. It then changed to Blondie or JD (my initials pre marriage). I don’t mind my nicknames or my first name.
2. What books on your shelf are begging to be read?
I have completely fallen out of my relationship with reading and need to rebuild it. I really want to read the new Cecilla Ahern book; Perfect.

3. How often do you doodle? What do your doodles look like? 
I doodle when I’m on the phone. Usually stars for some reason!

4. What do you do if you can’t sleep at night? Do you count sheep? Toss and Turn? Try to get up and do something productive?
In the past I used to count, then before my brother got married I took up yoga for anxiety relief and now I find the relaxation techniques work wonders. I picture my happy place and work through visual relaxation of each body part. I also used the same technique for labour and childbirth.

5. How many days could you last in solitary confinement? How would you do it?
Probably not even one day. I hate silence and being alone. Background noise is constant in my house.

6. Do you save old greeting cards and letters? Throw them away? 
A mixture. I saved my 18th and 21st cards, then our engagement and wedding cards, and our baby’s birth cards. Non special events hit the recycling bin.

7. Who is the biggest pack rat you know? 
My Granny Dorman was shocking. Newspaper cuttings and receipts galore.

8. When making an entrance in to a party, do you make your presence known? Do you slip in and look for someone you know? Do you sneak in quietly and find a safe spot to roost?
Hmmm it depends on the occasion. Generally I like to slip in and grab a seat with someone I know. But an outfit that’s a head turner for good reasons is hard to pass up.

9. What is your strongest sense? If you had to give one up, which would it be?
Smell- I love smells. The smell of good food. The smell of our baby boy. The smell of fresh laundered towels. Yum! If I had to give one up it would be taste believe it or not.

10. How many times a day do you look at yourself in the mirror? 
Generally when I use the bathroom!

11. What is the strangest thing you believed as a child? 
My mum told us that the red ambers that sat round an open fire were Santa’s watchers and when they went up the chimney they were going to report back on our behaviour. Bribery at its best!

12. What is one guilty pleasure you enjoy too much to give up? 
Pinterest. Coffee. Shoe shopping.

13. Who performs the most random acts of kindness out of everyone you know? 
I’d say my mum. She bakes for everyone- sick, old, young, births, deaths, celebrations, charity, church, neighbours, Christmas, Easter, Halloween- and expects nothing in return.

14. How often do you read the newspaper? Which paper? Which sections? 
I buy a cheap trashy newspaper when on a sunny holiday for the puzzle pages. So the last time was probably 2013!

15. Which animals scare you most? Why? 
I hate birds. Bar robin red breasts. All other birds I hate especially pigeons. I also don’t like spiders.

16. Are you more likely to avoid conflict or engage it head-on? 
I engage with it because I hate leaving things unsaid and having that dark cloud lingering in the air. I’d rather battle it out.

17. What was the most recent compliment you’ve received and savoured? 
My husband told me he was proud of me the day our son was born and thanked me. It was a rough birth and those words meant the world to me.

18. What is something about yourself that you hope will change, but probably never will? 
I’m an over-thinker. I can go from content to in tears in minutes from over thinking.

19. Are you a creature of habit? Explain. 
Hmmmm. I like things the way I like them and I don’t like change from the routine. Change stresses me. A big challenge which I’m learning to overcome with parenthood.

20. Are you high maintenance? Explain. 
I hope not but I wouldn’t say I’m low maintenance either. I’m not a push over.

21. When was the last time you really pushed yourself to your physical limits?
May 2016 I ran 26.2 miles for the British heart foundation. It was both mentally and physically tough for me. And not forgetting child birth in February 2017- 4.5hours of drug free labour prior to an emergency c-section.
22. Do you have a whole lot of acquaintances or just a few very close friends? Why? 
Both. I have lots of acquaintances through young farmers, the band and church. But when it comes to close friends I could count those who I would really turn to on one hand.

23. Are you more inclined to “build your own empire” or unleash the potential of others? 
I’m a build my own empire person 90% of the time. I like lone working and find it difficult to delegate.

24. What’s a strange occurrence you’ve experienced but have never (or rarely) shared with anyone? 
Both me and my mum had ghostly encounters in our home in Drumbo. Even now I don’t like being on my own upstairs in the house.

25. What do you think about more than anything else?
Finances, future plans, house investments, if I’m doing a good job as a parent/wife…

26. What’s something that amazes you? 
How time flies!

27. Do you prefer that people shoot straight with you or temper their words? Why? 
Depends on the situation but 9/10 times shoot straight, id rather know where I stand. I think this is why I’ve more male friends than female.

28. Where’s your favourite place to take an out-of-town guest?
There’s a field at home called ‘The Big Hill and as it suggests on the tin it’s a large hill with views reaching over 30 miles in each direction. Beautiful on a clear day and my happy place.

29. What’s one thing you’d rather pay someone to do than do yourself? Why? 
Clean the shower screen/ shower glass. Worst job ever. And its never streak free and never stays clean.

30. Do you have a catchphrase? 
Not that I’m aware of?

31. What’s your reaction towards people who are outspoken about their beliefs? What conditions cause you to dislike or, conversely, enjoy talking with them? 
I think beliefs are like assholes. Everyone has one but you don’t necessarily want to see it. Someone may ask, and if you desire you can share it with them, but public broadcasting isn’t necessary. I think everyone’s beliefs should be respected, regardless if they are right or wrong, and healthy debate on them is good, as long as it doesn’t become personal.

32. How and where do you prefer to study? 
Living room with the TV on or in the sunshine with the radio on- weather dependant.

33. What position do you sleep in? 
On my left hand side in a semi foetal position.

34. What’s your all-time favourite town or city? Why? 
Chicago. I even looked into moving there before we got married! I loved visiting it in 2012. The food, the people, the baseball, the architecture, the parks, the shopping…

35. What are the top three qualities that draw you to someone new? 
Sense of humour, how they speak about others and their eyes. You can tell a lot about someone by their eyes.

36. How has your birth order/characteristics of siblings affected you? 
Im the youngest so I got away with a lot more and was Daddy’s blue eye (still am!).

37. If you could eliminate one weakness or limitation in your life, what would it be? 
My fear of something bad happening. I think I would be a lot happier if I didn’t worry so much about something bad happening all the time. The serenity prayer is one I need to preach!

38. If you could restore one broken relationship, which would it be? 
One of my best friends from university.

39. If you had to change your first name, what would you change it to?
Something old fashioned like Isla or Tilly.

40. Do you believe ignorance is bliss? Why or why not? 
No. If you ignore something which you know is wrong, in my books you are as bad as the perpetrators.

41. What do you consider unforgivable?
Sexual abuse.

42. Have you forgiven yourself for past personal failures? Why or why not?
No and I don’t know why!? I tend to beat myself up for past failures. Past relationships, missed opportunities, mistakes, embarrassing moments. But I guess they have shaped who I am today.

43. How difficult is it for you to forgive someone who refuses to apologize? 
Very. Although if we both agree we were in the wrong then I’m happy to move on. A mutual apology if you like.

44.Do you hold any convictions that you would be willing to die for? 
My convictions are strong but I’m open to others opinions and thoughts on them. I stand up for what I believe in, but not sure id die for them?

45. To what extent do you trust people? Explain. 
I’m poor with trust in both friendships and relationships. I’ve been hurt before by both and the result has made me paranoid.

46. In what area of your life are you immature?
Grudges. I can hold a grudge and find it hard to forgive and forget.

47. What was the best news you ever received?
That our baby was born safe and sound.

48. How difficult is it for you to be honest, even when your words may be hurtful or unpopular? 
I engage in conflict when needed but I don’t like starting it. So at times this leads to white lies.

49. When did you immediately click with someone you just met? Why? What was the long term result? Conversely, are you close with anyone now that you really disliked at first? One of my best friends introduced me to his new girlfriend and we clicked over a mutual bond of cocktails, steak and dislike of a certain other. Result- they are now getting married and my husband is their usher. And no, I’m quite pig headed so once I have made my mind up about you, that’s it.

50. When do you find yourself singing?
In the car, in the shower and lots of baby sensory tunes- oh how times have changed.

Jx

3 thoughts on “50 questions to Ask and Answer.

Leave a Reply

